top of page

Chris Spencer hosts the Humor Mill Comedy Awards.

The Humor Mill Comedy Awards took place at the Directors Guild of America in Los Angeles, California on February 21, 2023.

Actor, Chris Spencer hosted the event. Ralph Farquhar and George Wallace were among those highlights for their contribution to the art of comedy. The comedy awards show celebrates legends and influencing stars in black culture comedy. It brings comedy upfront and recognizes those in the field.

The nominee lists for 2023 (Winner):

Best Sitcom

Real Husbands of Hollywood (BET+)

Flatbush Misdemeanors (Showtime)

Ms Pat Show (BET+)

The Upshaws (Netflix)

Southside (HBOMax)

The Fool (HULU)

Best Comedic Actress in Television & Film

Chandra Russel – Southside (HBOMax)

Ms Pat – The Ms Pat Show (BET)

B. Simone – Finding Happy (Bounce)

Kim Fields – The Upshaws (Netflix)

Janelle James – Abbott Elementary (ABC)

Best Comedic Actor in Television & Film

T-Mobile Zach Braff / Donald Faison

Barry Brewer – Bruh (BET+)

King Keraun – Millennials (ALLBLK)

DC Young Fly – Wild N’Out (MTV)

Jackie Long – Real Husbands of Hollywood (BET)

Frankie Quinones – This Fool (HULU)

Funniest Film of the Year

Easter Sunday

Honk for Jesus

Day Shift

Santa Games


Sketch of the Year

Daphnique Springs - Lil Nilly and I Parent Teacher Zoom Conference

The Enky Boys - Will Smith/Chris Rock, Oscars

Jason Banks - Music Compilation

Trey Moe - When Your Girl Catches You Lying

Big Jam - When the Whole Crew is Stupid

Trendy Topic Tiff - Cougar Chronicles

Nuevayol - Columbus Day Stolen Car

Kountry Wayne - When Your Ex-Cougar Girlfriend Pops Up

Juhahn Jones - When Temptation is Knocking

Best Comedic Actress - social media

Daphnique Springs

Precious Kutie

Indiremy Comedy

Kat Florence

Akilah Hughes

Whitney Labelle

Best Comedic Actor social media

Tony Baker


Rion Davis

Spice Adams

Shuler King

Affion Crockett

Comedy Special of the Year

David Arnold: Ain't for the Weak (NETFLIX)

Dave Chappelle - The Closer (NETFLIX)

Deon Cole - Charleen's Boy (NETFLIX

Jo Koy - Live from the LA Forum (NETFLIX

Earthquake - Legendary (NETFLIX)

Ms Pat - Ya'll Wanna Hear Something Crazy (NETFLIX)

Lil Rell - I Said It

Yvonne Orji - A Whole Me

Chris Redd - Why Am I Like This?

Comedian of the Year - People's Choice


Dave Chappelle

Lil Rell

Joe Koy

Katt Williams

Ms. Pat

Best Comedic Brand Advertising

T-Mobile - Zach Braff / Donald Faison

Spectrum Internet - Tony Baker / Kev on Stage / Tahir Moore

Progressive Insurance - Stephanie Courtney / Paul Mabon / Jim Cashman

Old Spice - Deon Cole & Gabrielle Dennis

State Farm - Jake: Kevin Miles & Various

Pizza Hut - Craig Robinson

Guests enjoyed a fantastic show and a great view of the red carpet. Many walked the red carpet. Chris Spencer (Comedian/ Host), Tiffany Haddish (Comedian/Actress), Ralph Farquhar (TV Writer/Producer), George Wallace (Legendary Comedian), Miquel A. Nunez (Actor/Producer/writer), Tony T. Roberts (Comedian), Brian J. White (Actor), Michael Colyar (Actor/ Comedian), Stan Lathan (TV Director), Esau McGraw (Comedian/Presenter), Brandon T. Jackson (Comedian/Actor), J. August Richards (Actor), Chaunte Wayans (Comedian), Flame Monroe (Comedian/Host), Shang Forbes (Comedian/Presenter), Nika King (Actress), Janeshia Adams-Ginyard (Actress), Aida Rodriguez (Comedian), Chaz Shephard (Actor/Singer/Presenter), Dorien Wilson (Actor/Presenter), Jasmine Burke (Actress/Presenter), Buddy Lewis (Actor), Anthony Bless (Recording Artist/Actor), Melvin Jackson Jr. (Actor), Bentley Evans (TV Writer/Producer) and many more attended.

About The Humor Mill Comedy Awards

The Humor Mill Comedy Awards honors and celebrates the diverse, dynamic world of urban comedy. Recognizing hard work and influences comedians in the mainstream culture.


bottom of page