top of page

Joe McHale hosts the 51st Annual Saturn Awards.

The Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Horror Films in collaboration with Electric Now presented the 51st Annual Saturn taking place at the Los Angeles Marriot Burbank Airport Hotel in Burbank, California on February 4, 2024.

An Award show that focuses on films which have science fiction, fantasy and horror backgrounds that includes suspense, thriller, action, and even dark drama. Films to your imagination.

On a rainy stormy day many came out to celebrate a award ceremony which presented awards in category of Best Science Fiction Film, Best Superhero Film, a Tribute to Lance Reddick, Best Fantasy Film, Best Horror Film, Best Action/Adventure Film, Best Thriller, a Visionary Award to Christopher Nolan, Best Animated, Best Actor in a film, Best Actress, Best Supporting Actor and Actress, A Lance Reddick Award presented to Keanu Reeves, Best Younger Performer, Best Film Direction, A tribute William Freidkin, Best Film Writing, Best Film Music, Best Film Editing, Best Film Production Designer, Best Film Costume, Best Make-up, Best Film Visual/Special Effects. Best Independent film, International Film, More categories in television and home entertainment.

Funny comedian/ Actor Joel McHale hosted the event. Christopher Nolan received the Visionary Award. Keanu Reeves was awarded the Lance Reddick Legacy Award, Jodie Foster with the Life Career Award. Seth MacFarlane was awarded the Robert Forster Artist’s Award.

The event was a success considering the cold rainy day. Many attended and walked the red carpet. Nicolas Cage, Sir Patrick Stewart, James Cameron, Danai Gurira, Ernie Hudson, Jeri Ryan, Joel McHale, Michael Dorn, Michelle Hurd, Paul Wesley, Norman Reedus, Ming-Na Wen, and Xolo Mariduena were the few who attended.

Winners for each category:

Best Science Fiction Film:

Avatar: The Way of Water


Best Fantasy Film:

Indiana Jones and the Dial of Destiny


Best Horror Film:

 Talk to Me


Best Superhero Film:

Guardians of the Galaxy: Vol. 3


Best Action / Adventure Film:

Mission Impossible - Dead Reckoning Part One


Best Thriller Film:



Best Actor in a Film:

Harrison Ford (Indiana Jones and the Dial of Destiny)


Best Actress in a Film:

Margot Robbie (Barbie)


Best Supporting Actor in a Film:

Nicolas Cage (Renfield)


Best Supporting Actress in a Film:

Emily Blunt (Oppenheimer)


Best Younger Actor in a Film:

Xolo Mariduena (Blue Beetle)


Best Film Direction:

James Cameron (Avatar: The Way of Water)


Best Film Writing:

Avatar: The Way of Water (James Cameron and Rick Jaffa & Amanda Silver)


Best Film Producer Designer:

Barbie (Sarah Greenwood)

Best Film Editing:

Oppenheimer (Jennifer Lame)


Best Music in a Film:

Indiana Jones and the Dial of Destiny (John Williams)


Best Film Costume:

Barbie (Jacqueline Durran)


Best Film Make-Up:

The Covenant (Donald Mowat)                 


Best Film Visual / Special Effects:

Avatar: The Way of Water (Joe Letteri, Richard Baneham, Eric Saindon, Daniel Barrett)


Best International Film:



Best Independent Film:



Best Animated Film:

Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse


Best Science Fiction Television Series:

Star Trek: Picard


Best Fantasy Television Series:



Best Horror Film Television Series:

The Last of Us


Best Superhero Television Series:

Superman & Lois


Best Action/Thriller Television Series:



Best Television Presentation:

Marvel's Werewolf by Night                        


Best Actor in a Television Series:

Patrick Stewart (Star Trek: Picard)


Best Actress in a Television Series:

Caitriona Balfe (Outlander)


Best Supporting Actor in a Television Series:

Jonathan Frakes (Star Trek: Picard)


About The Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror Films


The Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Films is a Non-profit organization founded in 1972.  Doctor Donald A. Reed, a noted film historian, recognized the arts and science in film.




bottom of page